Working Through the BookLog

November 20, 2007

The Way Of The Superior Man

I have wanted to read this book for quite some time, and I finally sat down and did.

Initially, this book was quite difficult for me to read. I am a very scientific minded person, so all the talk of polarity and energy and that sort of thing really put me off initially. That being said, once I was able to get past my surface distaste for the words that the author uses, I could really begin to understand what he was saying… and it made sense. A lot of sense. Deida doesn’t really give much proof that what he says is correct, he just kind of says it. That being so, the things that he says just make sense to me at an intuitive level – he provides a few simple, powerful ideas that simplify and explain a wide range of behavior and phenomenon.

The basic premise of the book is that most people are either masculine or feminine. Masculine people (mostly men) are goal driven. Central to their essence is integrity – not just keeping their word, although that is critical, but integrity to their self – being true to themselves no matter what. Feminine people, on the other hand are emotion driven – what they say is not written in stone like masculine peoples’ words are, but instead reflects their emotions. Both types of people want to feel the opposite pole in their lover.

Deida goes on to explore the implications of this idea. The book is definitely worth a read, unless you can’t get past the new-age-y-ness of the words Deida uses.

The Way of the Superior Man

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.